Sultan Kudarat History


Sultan Kudarat Province

Sultan Kudarat was once a part of the former empire province of Cotabato. It was created as a separate province along with Maguindanao and North Cotabato on November 22, l973 by virtue of Presidential Decree No. 341 signed by former Pres. Ferdinand E. Marcos.

The name Sultan Kudarat given to the province was derived from a Muslim ruler, the late Sultan Mohammed Dipatuan Kudarat who begun to assert his leadership in the year 1619 and reigned the Sultanate of Maguindanao from January 1625 to 1671 A.D.

He was a virtuous leader who embodied the idea of basic unity, oneness and freedom among the diverse people scattered throughout its Sultanate.  For this reason, he was considered as one of the National heroes of our country and for his honour this province was named after him.

Sultan Kudarat is located in the southwestern part of the island of Mindanao. It is bounded on the north by its sister provinces of Maguindanao and Cotabato; on the south by the provinces of South Cotabato and Sarangani; on the east by Davao del Sur; and on the west by Celebes Sea.

The municipality of Isulan is the capital town of the province which is approximately 88 kilometers from Cotabato City; 174 kilometers from Davao City and 103 kilometers from General Santos City.

The province is strategically located in the BIMP-EAGA region. Its coastal areas and towns are directly facing Australia and the three major ASEAN growth partners (Malaysia, Indonesia and Brunei), making it a potential backdoor of the Philippines to these countries.

The province is outside the typhoon belt as it lies on the region between latitude 6 degrees North and 7 degrees North and between longitude 124 degrees East and 126 degrees East.

Sultan Kudarat is now under the administrative supervision of Region XII, per E.O. No. 36.  It is composed of eleven (11) municipalities and one (1) component city namely; Bagumbayan, Columbio, Esperanza, Isulan, Kalamansig, Lebak, Lutayan, Lambayong, Palimbang, President Quirino, Senator Ninoy Aquino and Tacurong City. Isulan, the provincial capitol is 88 kilometers from Cotabato City, 103 from General Santos City via Surallah, South Cotabato and 174 kilometers from Davao City. Concrete paved roads connect the capital town to these cities.

       Likewise, the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) originated from the defunct Department of Agriculture and Natural Resources (DANR) with the field office named Bureau of Forest Development (BFD). In May 1974, the DANR thru PD 461 was splitted into two departments recognizing that Natural Resources and Agriculture have two different functions. DA and DNR were created and again shifted during the adoption of parliamentary form of government which DNR became Ministry of Natural Resources.

After the 20 years of Marcos regime in February 1986, there was a significant breakthrough on the MNR..President Corazon C. Aquino issued Executive Order No. 30 dated January 30, 1987 creating Department of Energy, Environment and Natural Resources (DEENR) but was subsequently amended to become the Deaprtment of Energy (DE) and Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) by virtue of EO No. 192 dated June 10, 1987 (May 2, 1988?). The Provincial and Community Environment and Natural Resources Offices (PENRO and CENROs) were likewise created under such EO which served as the field offices of the DENR.

        The DENR in the Province of Sultan Kudarat is headed by the PENR Officer (PENRO) with office based at EJC Montilla, Tacurong City. It has two (2) Community Environment and Natural Resources Offices (CENROs) under its supervision namely: CENRO-Tacurong City headed by a CENR Officer likewise based at EJC Montilla, Tacurong City which covers the eight (8) mainland municipalities of the province such as Bagumbayan, Columbio, Esperanza, Isulan, Ma. Marcos (Lambayong), Pres. Quirino, Sen. Ninoy Aquino and Tacurong City. The other is CENRO-Kalamansig likewise headed by a CENR Officer with office based at Poblacion, Kalamansig and covers the three (3) coastal towns of Kalamansig, Lebak and Palimbang.

        DENR is the primary agency responsible for the conservation, management, development and proper use of the country’s environment and natural resources.

        It’s Vision: A nation enjoying and sustaining its natural resources and a clean and healthy environment.

    It’s Mission: The DENR shall be the driving force in the pursuit of sustainable development, enabling stakeholders’ participation in the protection, conservation and management of the environment and natural resources for the present and future generations.